Archive for February 23rd, 2007

h1

alicious what?

February 23, 2007

Dear Fergie,

I have serious issues with your hit song “Fergalicious.”  While I must admit that it is growing on me, when I first heard it on the radio, I thought it was a commercial for chewing gum.  We could talk for days about the downfall of popular music, or how I can’t believe your performance of “My Humps” won a Grammy, or even how offended I was when you named the “real” version of your hit song “Let’s Get it Started,” “Let’s Get Retarded,” but don’t get me side tracked because I’ve got a serious issue with this particular song.

You’re completely contributing to the dumbing down of America when you (intentionally!!) misspell words in your songs. “Tasty” is NOT spelled “Tastey.” I don’t care that it didn’t “rhyme right” without the extra “e”.  It just isn’t spelled that way. Spelling is not something I feel you can just change the parameters of to suit your needs. Be a real artist and figure out something else that works lyrically.

Thank you for your time,

j