h1

Gracie

August 5, 2011

Quick version so I don’t forget the big stuff, and i’ve been pretty much up for 25 hours now.

J woke me up at 4:30. She said “I think we’re gonna have the baby today.” I said “Oh, great.” Then I paused for a minute and said, “are you in labor?” She said, “yes, I am.” And I replied, “oh, good.” Another pause. “Did your water break?” “Yep.”

I was kind of up like a lightning bolt at that point.

J was 4 cm when we arrived. Contractions weren’t regular so they did start pitocin, and starting at about 11 am she started contracting regularly. By 2/3 they were coming every 1 to 3 minutes and increasing in strength. By 5:30 she was in the tub and contractions were nuts. She was at 9 by 7:30, but the baby wouldn’t drop more, and when she finally left the tub the baby started not being happy with any position we could get her in. Pitocin was stopped and started twice, internal monitor was screwed into her head, and we watched as baby was pretty much happiest when J was on hands and knees, and pretty much no other way. By 8:30, with no progression and baby starting to get upset again, we made the really hard choice to go forward with a c-section. She’d been in labor for around 18 hours by that point, really hard and painful labor for about 7 hours, and would have pushed this baby out just fine (I’m shocked she didn’t go for the epidural, the pain she was in, at least from her face/sounds seemed fairly unbearable) but…it wasn’t happening.

Gracie was born at 9:19 pm, she had a cord on the short side that was wrapped around her perfect little neck.

She’s beautiful and has a full head of long, dark hair, and so far seems to have blue eyes.

Our friend E is a champ who was with us the whole time, and truly helped make the day manageable.

My wife? Incredible. Strongest woman I have ever met, I can’t believe how amazing she is.

Gracie? I think I may be in love. I’ve memorized her face and can close my eyes and see her and it’s amazing.

12 comments

  1. Congratulations, Mamas! She is beautiful!


  2. Welcome to the world, tiny Gracie.


  3. nothing quite like the feeling of falling in love with your child… enjoy every second… she’s an amazingly lucky girl.


  4. Congratulations! She is just beautiful! I know you will be super busy from here on out, but I can’t wait to read more!


  5. oh, oh, oh, i am just so beyond words happy for you!!! i found your FB post last night at work, around 1am while i was making my dinner…and nearlly cried with joy. instead i showed the two photos to two of my best friends at work! ❤

    get some rest and enjoy your amazing daughter.
    your detailing of falling in love reminds me of so many times my dad told me about the day i was born… i am missing him, but i am so blessed to know i was so loved from the first moment. your baby is a lucky girl to have two amazing parents who wanted her for so long and dreamed of her and waited ❤

    much much love!
    [and apologies for the gushing]
    xoxo,
    aunt gypsy


  6. Aww hun, I am over the moon for you, for all of you. She is BEAUTIFUL, but of course you know that. Enjoy your baby daughter every moment, it all gets faster and faster so quickle. I am just so thrilled for you!!!


  7. Here from LFCA….

    Your daughter is GORGEOUS! Much congrats to you and your wife on your beautiful new addition!


  8. Mazel Tov!!!! YEAH!!!! A long time coming to you!
    Wishing you and J and little Gracie all the best!


  9. So precious! Congratulations!


  10. Congratulations! This is wonderful news. She is a beautiful little girl!! Enjoy every single second!


  11. what a wonderful end to your journey–and beginning, too. many congratulations to your lil’ family!


  12. Congratulations! You have a beautiful daughter.



Leave a comment