Archive for April 2nd, 2009

h1

pulling up

April 2, 2009

I swear I’m going to take my “day off” and relax, it just didn’t happen today.

My house is starting to become my home. My kitchen is painted and the furniture is somewhat assembled. I’m going for a Monster Garage meets Martha Stewart kind of thing. I’ll take pictures when it’s done but it may be the butchest/gayest kitchen design ever. I’m kind of in love with myself for thinking it would work and making it happen.

For me, the kitchen is so very much the most important room. I show people that I love them by cooking. I also haven’t had more to eat than cereal, pizza, and bananas in this house because i haven’t unpacked any kitchen stuff yet because 1)I hate re-moving things after placing them, and 2) until today had no where to put anything.

I also accomplished some tasky things today. I kind of have a little fire under my behind because of a visitor coming this weekend who I’d like to at least see my place and think I’m not totally inept at fending for myself. I have also remembered that just because I don’t drink coffee, most of the rest of the population does and well, I need to be prepared for things like that.  So, I got a French press because I figure at least I can steep my tea at the same time.

In addition, the “geek squad” came to my house and showed me how to make my tv work right and also made it so I only have to use one remote, not three. Score one for the geeks.

I somehow managed to fit in time for acupuncture and a haircut and dinner with a friend. I would have done the therapy thing but that got canceled which gave me more time for the second coat of the kitchen.

And, one little factoid that I don’t know if it means anything but as March was perhaps the worst month of my personal life, ever, it was the most successful of my professional life. Which is strange because I felt like I  wasn’t doing a damn thing and was pretty vacant. I wonder what it means, or if the universe was being kind.