Archive for November 6th, 2006

h1

So Much Things to Say….

November 6, 2006

We had a beyond amazing weekend. Truly fabulous. From our hosts, to our journeys, to our “destination,” everything went like clockwork, and was fabulous.

Others will spout more eloquently than I on this, but I just wanted it to be said – I’m so incredibly lucky to be a part of a wonderful group of supportive and smart women. Thank you all for your support and friendship and open-arms acceptance. There’s no doubt in my mind that we all have each others backs – even from miles and miles away. It’s a really nice feeling.

*******************************************************

If you’re “lucky” enough to live in the state of Massachusetts and live near the Mass Pike, you should encourage your employers to hold their company holiday parties at one of the rest-stops along the highway. Really. The owners have spent quite a pretty penny in advertising, promoting the corporate use of these rest-stops, especially for holiday functions. Really though, everything you could possibly need is there, except for the alcohol portion. Dinner at McDonald’s, or Subway, and then dessert at Ben and Jerry’s, followed by a midnight snack at the pretzel place. If you party all night, you can grab breakfast at Dunkin’ Donuts before slogging home.

Actually, you probably could live at a rest stop and have practically all of your needs met. You’d weight a zillion pounds after the experiment, but hey, all in the name of research. A few of the stops even have a “health food” fast food option, so you wouldn’t have to live on McDonald’s a la “Supersize Me.” There’s even free wi-fi.

With the daily influx of visitors surely if you needed a doctor, or a mechanic, the odds are in your favor that one is in the building. Hrm……

*******************************************************

At a gathering this weekend, I stated that I’d never had a “hater” comment on this very blog. Actually, I’ve never even had a truly anonymous comment. Imagine my surprise when I came home to find this, totally dumbass comment made about my knowledge before dying post.

Anonymous said…
I think dying gives you more to think about than Harry Potter, Grey’s Anatomy and Lost.
Death would allow me to see all my friends and family that I have lost over the years, and catching up would definetly keep me busy.
What Dreams May Come

What a gem! As an FYI, the spelling error is courtesy of Anonymous…not me. Back to Anonymous. Lighten up!! Re-read the post. You can spend years in anticipation of meeting up with already dead homies. That’s not what this was about. It’s not about what you “see” in your final seconds on earth. It’s not about the hereafter, or the afterlife. It’s just a random “I’d hate dying before knowing if the Cubs actually manage to win another World Series,” or “I’d hate to die before I knew if the world was gonna make it or not.” Humor people!

Death (in my humble opinion) is a natural part of the life cycle. It’s not to be anticipated, or feared, but just…there as part of the “end.” So, Anonymous, lighten up, and tell me that you’d hate to die before knowing if Doogie Howser is gay. Well, maybe think of something new. Also….just for your personal information, I’m not into “Lost.” I’ve actually never even watched it.

*******************************************************

This week brings another exciting installment of “my busy life.” Actually, S is at a local conference for the early part of the week, so I’ll pretty much be left to my own devices. After a weekend of not eating very well, and engaging in….some not good behaviors….I’m back on my very healthy plan, like, the one from a year ago, which I managed to stick too pretty well for about 9 months before…well…a minor bout with depression and general anger and angst. I seem to be getting over that pretty well, so I’m jumping back on the “no bad behaviors” bandwagon. I will say that during my “lapse” I NEVER gave up on the working out/exercise portion of my daily routine. I’m pretty proud of that. I may have slacked a bit…but was still up on the treadmill or out on the bike 3 or so times a week. As of today, my goal is to boost that back up to 5x per week.

Despite all the fun we had this weekend….it’s good to be home. I appreciate my city by the sea so much, especially after I leave it for a few days.